5 étapes pour mettre en œuvre la classification de la sensibilité des données

5 étapes pour mettre en œuvre la classification de la sensibilité des données

Partager

Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter

Il y a une bonne raison pour laquelle environ 68% des chefs d'entreprise estiment que les risques de cybersécurité pour leur entreprise augmentent, selon recherche récente par Accenture. Ils augmentent.

From phishing to incidental data exposure as a result of human error, data breaches are becoming increasingly common among organizations of all types. In the first half of 2020 alone, more than 36 billion corporate records were exposed by mistake, selon la sécurité basée sur les risques.

Une partie du problème est que la plupart des entreprises ont encore du mal à identifier l'intégralité des données générées par leur organisation et ne parviennent pas à les classer en fonction du niveau de sensibilité. Plus que la moitié de toutes les données au sein de l'entreprise type n'est ni classé ni étiqueté. Sans comprendre la sensibilité des données, il est difficile de les sécuriser correctement.

La classification de sensibilité est le fondement d'une bonne sécurité des données, et la bonne nouvelle est que l'établissement d'un système de classification robuste n'est pas aussi difficile qu'il y a dix ans.

Il existe cinq étapes de base pour mettre en œuvre un système complet de classification de la sensibilité des données.

Étape 1 : Élaborez un plan de classification des données

La première étape consiste à élaborer un plan de classification des données qui correspond aux besoins de l'organisation.

La classification des données est essentielle pour l'atténuation des risques, mais d'autres cas d'utilisation fréquents selon Recherche Gartner comprennent la gouvernance/conformité, l'efficacité et l'optimisation, et le support analytique. La définition des objectifs de classification doit donc être le point de départ de votre plan, y compris les systèmes concernés par le processus de classification initial et tout cadre réglementaire pour les données que l'entreprise doit suivre.

Une fois ces considérations fondamentales définies, les organisations doivent classer les données par type, telles que les informations personnellement identifiables ou la propriété intellectuelle, et définir les niveaux de classification des données.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette étape, lisez notre article, Comment développer un plan de classification de la sensibilité des données.

Étape 2 : Définir le processus de classification automatisé

Il existe trois façons de classer chaque donnée d'entreprise. Les données peuvent être classées manuellement par les employés, elles peuvent être classées automatiquement par les systèmes de détection et de sécurité des données, ou les organisations peuvent adopter une approche hybride qui combine à la fois une classification automatisée et manuelle.

Comme l'indique le titre de cette étape, la plupart des organisations voudront au moins une certaine mesure d'automatisation de la classification des données, car une classification manuelle complète est fonctionnellement impossible. En outre, il ne sert à rien de faire de la classification un processus manuel.

La plupart des entreprises qui réussissent à classer les données en fonction de leur sensibilité adoptent une approche hybride qui combine la découverte et la classification automatisées complètes des données avec un audit manuel continu de la classification des données effectué par le système.

Il existe plusieurs solutions robustes de découverte et de classification de données sur le marché, y compris les solutions basées sur le cloud de Qohash fonctionne plate-forme qui peut découvrir des données d'entreprise sensibles même sur des serveurs cloud publics et des appareils informatiques personnels au domicile d'un employé.

Dans le cadre de cette étape, les entreprises définiront également quelles données doivent être analysées en premier, la fréquence d'analyse et les ressources utilisées pour maintenir la classification des données.

Étape 3 : Spécifiez les critères de classification et passez en revue

Avec une solution de classification des données en place, la troisième étape consiste à définir les critères de classification et le processus de vérification des classifications correctes.

En termes de critères de classification, une organisation voudra définir les modèles de classification et les étiquettes au sein de la solution automatisée qui seront nécessaires pour une classification correcte. Cela sera facile ou difficile en fonction de la connaissance de l'organisation de son empreinte de données complète, du schéma développé pendant la phase de planification de la classification et de la solution de classification automatisée des données qui a été choisie.

Les entreprises doivent également spécifier le processus d'examen de la classification automatisée des données dans le cadre de cette étape, et le processus de validation de son exactitude continue.

La précision de la classification est généralement décomposée en deux mesures, selon le Association pour la gestion de l'information et de l'image (AIIM):

> Quel pourcentage des classifications de données de la solution automatisée est le même qu'un humain attribuerait ? Une précision parfaite signifie que toutes les données sont classées de la même manière que ce qui serait obtenu par une classification manuelle.

> Une métrique distincte mais liée, quel pourcentage de toutes les données valides la solution automatisée est-elle capable de classer correctement pour une catégorie de données donnée ? Un rappel parfait signifie que toutes les données d'entreprise destinées à être incluses sont classées correctement par la solution.

Étape 4 : Établir les résultats globaux et l'utilisation des données classifiées

La classification des données n'est pas une fin en soi, la prochaine étape consiste donc à définir et à mettre en place les processus d'analyse et de sécurité qui résulteront de la classification des données. C'est là que l'utilisation de la classification et les résultats globaux sont définis et mis en œuvre. Du point de vue de la sécurité des données, c'est également le jour de paie pour toutes les étapes précédentes.

Dans la mesure du possible, les résultats basés sur la classification des données doivent être automatisés afin qu'ils puissent avoir lieu en temps réel avec une opportunité minimale de latence entre la création des données et les cas d'utilisation basés sur la classification. Ceci est particulièrement critique pour les processus de sécurité construits autour de la classification des données sensibles, car les données telles que la propriété intellectuelle et les informations d'identification personnelle nécessitent une action de sécurité immédiate.

Dans le cadre de ce processus, testez et examinez les résultats avant le déploiement des systèmes pour vérifier qu'ils sont conformes à tous les objectifs spécifiés dans le plan de classification des données de l'organisation.

Étape 5 : Surveiller et maintenir la classification

La dernière étape est l'une des plus importantes.

La classification des données n'est pas une chose à faire, alors établissez un processus de découverte et de classification des ressources de données d'entreprise sur une base continue. Cela inclut de spécifier la fréquence de découverte et de classification si elle n'est pas effectuée automatiquement en temps réel.

En plus d'établir un processus continu de classification des données, les entreprises doivent également définir un processus pour examiner périodiquement les catégories de classification des données et le processus de classification dans son ensemble.

Si la conformité réglementaire est l'un des objectifs de l'effort de classification, cela devrait inclure la spécification d'un processus de surveillance continue des modifications réglementaires pour assurer la pertinence continue de la classification des données.

S'assurer que toutes les données sensibles de l'entreprise sont correctement sécurisées n'est pas un processus instantané. Mais en même temps, c'est plus facile que de nombreuses entreprises ne le pensent. Tout ce qu'il faut, c'est une connaissance du paysage de l'entreprise, un peu de planification structurée et la bonne technologie d'automatisation des données en place.

Une grande partie de ce processus, de la découverte des données à la classification automatique en temps réel des données sensibles, peut être gérée par la solution Qostodian de Qohash. Contactez-nous pour une démonstration de Qostodian ou des conseils sur la façon de simplifier les opérations de sécurité des données de votre entreprise.

Langue

Contactez-nous

5 Steps to Implement Data Sensitivity Classification

Share

Table of Contents

There’s a good reason that roughly 68 percent of business leaders feel the cybersecurity risks for their company are increasing, according to recent research by Accenture. They are increasing.

From phishing to incidental data exposure as a result of human error, data breaches are becoming increasingly common among organizations of all types. In the first half of 2020 alone, more than 36 billion corporate records were exposed by mistake, according to RiskBased Security.

Part of the problem is that most companies still struggle with identifying the full scope of the data generated by their organization, and fail to classify it based on sensitivity level. More than half of all data within the typical company is unclassified or untagged. Without understanding the sensitivity of data, it is hard to properly secure it.

Sensitivity classification is a foundation for proper data security, and the good news is that establishing a robust classification system is not as hard as it was even a decade ago.

There are five basic steps for implementing a comprehensive data sensitivity classification system.

Step 1: Make a Data Classification Plan

The first step is developing a plan for data classification that fits the needs of the organization.

Data classification is essential for risk mitigation, but other frequent use cases for it according to Gartner research include governance/compliance, efficiency and optimization, and analytics support. So defining classification objectives should be the starting point for your plan, including which systems are in scope for the initial classification process, and any regulatory frameworks for data that the company must follow.

Once those core considerations are defined, organizations should categorize data according to type, such as personally identifiable information or intellectual property, and define data classification levels.

For more on this step, read our article, How to Develop a Data Sensitivity Classification Plan.

Step 2: Define the Automated Classification Process

There are three ways that each piece of corporate data can get classified. Data can be manually classified by employees, it can be classified automatically by data discovery and security systems, or organizations can take a hybrid approach that combines both automated and manual classification.

As the heading for this step implies, most organizations will want at least some measure of data classification automation because complete manual classification is functionally impossible. Besides, there’s no point in making classification a manual process.

Most businesses that successfully classify data according to sensitivity take a hybrid approach that combines comprehensive automated data discovery and classification with an ongoing manual audit of data classification performed by the system.

There are several robust data discovery and classification solutions on the market, including Qohash’s cloud-based Qostodian platform that can uncover sensitive corporate data even on public cloud servers and personal computing devices within an employee’s home.

As part of this step, businesses also will define what data should be scanned first, the frequency of scanning, and the resources used for maintaining data classification.

Step 3: Specify Classification Criteria and Review

With a data classification solution in place, the third step is defining the criteria for classification, and the process for verifying correct classifications.

In terms of classification criteria, an organization will want to define the classification patterns and labels within the automated solution that will be required for correct classification. This will be easy or hard depending on the organization’s knowledge of its complete data footprint, the schema developed during the classification planning phase, and the automated data classification solution that has been chosen.

Businesses also should specify the process for reviewing the automated data classification as part of this step, and the process for validating its ongoing accuracy.

Classification accuracy typically is broken down into two measures, according to the Association for Information and Image Management (AIIM):

> What percentage of the automated solution’s data classifications are the same as a human would assign? Perfect precision means that all data is classified in the same way as what would be achieved by manual classification.

> A distinct but related metric, what percentage of all valid data is the automated solution able to classify correctly for a given data category? Perfect recall means that all corporate data intended for inclusion is classified correctly by the solution.

Step 4: Establish Overall Outcomes and Classified Data Usage

Data classification is not an end unto itself, so the next step is defining and setting up the analytics and security processes that will take place as a result of data classification. This is where the classification usage and overall outcomes are defined and implemented. From a data security perspective, this also is the payday for all the steps that came before.

Where possible, outcomes based on data classification should be automated so they can take place in real-time with minimal opportunity for latency between data creation and the use cases based on classification. This is especially critical for security processes built around sensitive data classification, because data such as intellectual property and personal identifying information requires immediate security action.

As part of this process, test and review outcomes prior to systems rollout to verify that they conform to all objectives specified in the organization’s data classification plan.

Step 5: Monitor and Maintain Classification

The final step is one of the most important.

Data classification is not one and done, so establish a process for discovering and classifying corporate data resources on an ongoing basis. This includes specifying the frequency of discovery and classification if it is not performed automatically in real-time.

Along with establishing an ongoing data classification process, businesses also should define a process for periodically reviewing data classification categories and the classification process overall.

If regulatory compliance is one of the objectives for the classification effort, this should include specifying a process for monitoring regulatory changes on an ongoing basis for continued data classification relevancy.

Ensuring that all sensitive corporate data is properly secured is not an instant process. But at the same time, it is easier than many businesses realize. All it takes is awareness of the corporate landscape, a little structured planning, and the right data automation technology in place.

Much of this process, from data discovery to automatic real-time classification of sensitive data, can be handled by Qohash’s Qostodian solution. Contact us for a Qostodian demo or guidance on how to simplify your company’s data security operation.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

Recommended for you

Data governance best practices
Blog
Data is at the core of decision-making and strategic planning for many digital-based organizations. Implementing robust data governanc...
Data access governance
Blog
If you want to keep your data safe and secure and make sure your information doesn’t get into the wrong hands, you’ll want to make sure y...
qohash qostodian recon logo
News
Qohash is pleased to announce a significant update to the Qostodian Recon scan engine, designed to enhance speed, accuracy, and explainab...
data migration challenges (1)
Blog
With every instance of moving data around, there are at least a dozen things that could go wrong. While data migration is essential fo...
data security posture management vs cloud security posture
Blog
As cyber threats continue to evolve, it’s important that businesses prioritize both data security posture management (DSPM) and Cloud Sec...
create an insider risk management policy
Blog
When it comes to protecting your company’s most valuable assets and sensitive data protection, knowing how to create an insider ris...
Logo Qohash
By initiative
Regulatory compliance:
Find, classify and inventory all sensitive data, across every data source
Data breach prevention:
Monitor sensitive data 24/7, track data lineage, and enforce policies at endpoints
Microsoft 365
One easy-to-use platform to secure sensitive data on Windows workstations and M365
By regulation
GDPR
CCPA
GLBA
VCDPA
NYCRR
UCPA
PCI-DSS
CPA
Law 25
Why Qohash
Defy legacy limitations
What our customers say about us

Contact us​