5 questions sur la sécurité des données que vous devriez vous poser pendant la pandémie

5 questions sur la sécurité des données que vous devriez vous poser pendant la pandémie

Partager

Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter

La pandémie de coronavirus Covid-19 a radicalement changé les affaires. Non seulement cela a modifié le comportement des clients, bouleversé les plans d'affaires et perturbé les chaînes d'approvisionnement, mais il a également déplacé le travail à domicile.

Un Étude Owl Labs a constaté qu'environ 70 pour cent des employés à temps plein travaillent désormais à domicile aux États-Unis, au moins temporairement.

Ce changement a un impact sur la sécurité des données d'entreprise, car tout à coup, le volume de données d'entreprise échangées via les services de cloud public, circulant sur des réseaux Wi-Fi domestiques non sécurisés et se retrouvant sur des appareils informatiques personnels a considérablement augmenté. Et si certains employés sont des télétravailleurs chevronnés, pour beaucoup, c'est la première fois qu'ils travaillent vraiment à domicile.

C'est une recette pour un désastre du point de vue de la sécurité des données d'entreprise.

Alors que vous réajustez encore une fois vos plans d'affaires et affinez vos compétences Zoom, voici cinq questions importantes sur la sécurité des données que vous devriez également vous poser.

1. Où sont nos données et qui y a accès ?

Même avant la pandémie, la plupart des entreprises avaient du mal à suivre l'emplacement de toutes les données commerciales et qui y avaient accès. Cela n'a fait qu'empirer avec l'afflux de travail à domicile et la rupture des contrôles d'accès. Le risque de données d'entreprise non sécurisées n'a jamais été aussi grand.

Le catalogage et la découverte de l'emplacement des données de l'entreprise sont essentiels pour la sécurité. Les solutions de sécurité des données basées sur le cloud telles que fonctionne peut vous aider, en localisant toutes les données de l'entreprise même si elles résident sur l'appareil d'un employé à la maison, un service cloud grand public tel que Google Drive ou un serveur distant.

2. Quelles données nécessitent le plus de protection ?

L'univers des données commerciales d'entreprise est vaste et comprend tout, des e-mails de confirmation de réunion et des plans stratégiques aux documents de propriété intellectuelle et aux données clients réglementées par le gouvernement. Certaines de ces données peuvent très bien se retrouver sur un ordinateur auquel pourrait accéder le fils de 8 ans d'un employé, mais d'autres données doivent être soigneusement protégées pendant cette saison de travail à domicile.

Classer les données d'entreprise en fonction de leur sensibilité est important pour éviter une fuite de données catastrophique pendant la pandémie. Des solutions telles que Qostodian peuvent cataloguer automatiquement toutes les données au sein d'une organisation et aider intelligemment à la classification des données afin que les données sensibles bénéficient de la protection qu'elles méritent.

3. Comment protégeons-nous nos données pendant le travail à domicile ?

Lorsque la majorité du travail se déroulait au bureau, des systèmes étaient en place pour surveiller et protéger les ressources de données de l'entreprise via un logiciel de sécurité sur site et d'autres moyens typiques de la vie pré-pandémique. Mais les règles ont changé pendant la pandémie, et la plupart des architectures de sécurité des données d'entreprise n'ont pas été conçues pour un tel travail en gros à domicile.

Une solution de sécurité des données de bout en bout entièrement basée sur le cloud est nécessaire pour protéger les actifs de données d'entreprise à l'ère de Covid-19. Les solutions cloud telles que Qostodian étendent de manière transparente la sécurité des données de l'entreprise à la maison en surveillant les actifs numériques même sur les appareils personnels et les services cloud sans compromettre la confidentialité des employés.

4. Avons-nous une visibilité en temps réel ?

Les données commerciales sont créées, déplacées et partagées en continu. Le suivi et la sécurisation des données n'en sont donc pas une. La surveillance continue des données était importante mais difficile avant la pandémie, mais maintenant, elle est à la fois plus difficile et plus nécessaire compte tenu de la prévalence du travail à distance.

La surveillance en temps réel de toutes les données de l'entreprise permet de garantir la sécurité des ressources de données de l'entreprise. La réduction du risque de conformité lié aux données réglementées et aux enregistrements clients non sécurisés nécessite également une surveillance de la sécurité en temps réel. Les solutions de sécurité automatisées basées sur le cloud, telles que Qostodian, offrent cette visibilité continue en surveillant les données de l'entreprise 24 heures sur 24 afin que les vulnérabilités de sécurité puissent être corrigées dès qu'elles apparaissent.

5. Comment aidons-nous les employés à distance à rester en sécurité ?

Le facteur humain est un élément clé de la sécurité des données. Par quelques estimations, plus de 90 % de toutes les violations de données sont le résultat d'une erreur humaine. Bien que ce maillon faible puisse ne jamais être complètement supprimé, aider les employés à pratiquer la sécurité des données est beaucoup plus difficile lorsque les travailleurs sont hors site et probablement distraits par la demande de leur enfant de 5 ans de regarder à nouveau Frozen.

Une surveillance automatisée et proactive de la sécurité et une évaluation des risques peuvent vous aider. Les solutions de sécurité telles que Qostodian anticipent et quantifient les risques cachés en fonction du comportement des employés. Ainsi, même si des employés distants se livrent à des pratiques de données à risque, une entreprise peut prendre des mesures correctives pour guider l'employé vers de meilleures habitudes de sécurité et sécuriser les données sensibles.

Ces questions sont pressantes pendant la pandémie, mais elles seront probablement pertinentes même après la fin de la crise.

En effet, la moitié de tous les travailleurs interrogés par l'étude Owl Labs mentionnée ci-dessus rapportent qu'après la pandémie, ils ne travailleront que pour un employeur qui propose des options de télétravail. Le travail à distance et les défis de sécurité des données qu'il introduit sont là pour rester.

Donc, si vous cherchez des réponses, c'est le moment d'examiner vos options. Si vous souhaitez voir Qostodian en action, planifier une démo.

Langue

Contactez-nous

5 Data Security Questions You Should be Asking During the Pandemic

Table of Contents

The Covid-19 coronavirus pandemic has radically changed business. Not only has it altered customer behavior, upended business plans and disrupted supply chains, it also has moved work to the home.

An Owl Labs study found that roughly 70 percent of full-time employees now work from home in the U.S., at least temporarily.

This shift impacts corporate data security, because suddenly the volume of corporate data getting exchanged through public cloud services, travelling along unsecured home wi-fi networks and ending up on personal computing devices has increased significantly. And while some employees are seasoned telecommuters, for many this is the first time they’ve truly worked from home.

This is a recipe for disaster from a corporate data security perspective.

So while you’re re-adjusting business plans yet again and fine-tuning your Zoom skills, here are five important data security questions you should be asking as well.

1. Where is Our Data and Who Has Access to It?

Even before the pandemic, most businesses had a tough time tracking the location of all business data and who had access. This has only gotten worse with the influx of work from home and the breakdown in access controls. The chance for insecure business data has never been larger.

Cataloging and discovering the location of business data is essential for security. Cloud-based data security solutions such as Qostodian can help, locating all business data even if it resides on an employee device within the home, a consumer cloud service such as Google Drive, or a remote server.

2. What Data Requires the Most Protection?

The universe of corporate business data is vast, and includes everything from meeting confirmation emails and strategy plans to intellectual property documents and government-regulated customer data. Some of this data is just fine ending up on a computer that might be accessed by an employee’s 8-year-old son, but other data must be carefully protected during this season of work from home.

Classifying corporate data according to sensitivity is important for avoiding a catastrophic data leak during the pandemic. Solutions such as Qostodian can automatically catalog all data within an organization and intelligently assist with data classification so sensitive data gets the protection it deserves.

3. How are We Protecting Our Data During Work from Home?

When the majority of work took place within the office, there were systems in place for monitoring and protecting corporate data resources through on-premise security software and other means typical of pre-pandemic life. But the rules have changed during the pandemic, and most corporate data security architectures were not built for such wholesale work from home.

An entirely cloud-based, end-to-end data security solution is necessary for protecting corporate data assets in the age of Covid-19. Cloud solutions such as Qostodian seamlessly extend company data security into the home by monitoring digital assets even on personal devices and cloud services without compromising employee privacy.

4. Do We Have Real-Time Visibility?

Business data is created, moved and shared on an ongoing basis. Tracking and securing data therefore is not one and done. Ongoing data monitoring was important but challenging before the pandemic, but now it is both more challenging and more needed given the prevalence of remote work.

Real-time monitoring of all business data helps ensure that corporate data resources stay secure. Reducing compliance risk from regulated data and insecure customer records also requires real-time security monitoring. Automated, cloud-based security solutions such as Qostodian deliver this ongoing visibility by monitoring corporate data around the clock so security vulnerabilities can be addressed as they emerge.

5. How Do We Help Remote Employees Stay Secure?

The human factor is a key component of data security. By some estimates, more than 90 percent of all data breaches are the result of human error. While this weak link can never fully be removed, helping employees practice data security is much harder when workers are off-site and likely distracted by their 5-year-old’s request to watch Frozen again.

Automated, proactive security monitoring and risk assessment can help. Security solutions such as Qostodian anticipate and quantify hidden risks based on employee behavior. So even if remote employees engage in risky data practices, a business can take corrective steps to guide the employee in better security habits and keep sensitive data secure.

These questions are pressing during the pandemic, but they likely will be relevant even after the crisis has abated.

That’s because half of all workers surveyed by the Owl Labs study mentioned above report that after the pandemic they will only work for an employer who offers telecommute options. Remote work and the data security challenges it introduces are here to stay.

So if you’re looking for answers, now’s the time to consider your options. If you’d like to see Qostodian in action, schedule a demo.

A propos de l'auteur

A propos de l'auteur

FR Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Etiam eu turpis molestie, dictum est a, mattis tellus. Sed dignissim, metus nec fringilla accumsan, risus sem sollicitudin lacus, ut interdum tellus elit sed risus.

Recommended for you

The high price of trust - the true cost of insider threats new
Organizations spend significant time and money mitigating external security threats.  While these efforts are absolutely necessary. ...
5 best practices for rolling out your insider risk management program
The way we do business is continually shifting. In the last three years, workforces have gone fully or partially remote, data has migrate...
The true cost of non-compliance - can you afford the risk
A tightening regulatory climate As data multiplies, so do the rules around collecting, using, and protecting other people’s personal, ...
Data classification and inventorying - The foundation of regulatory compliance
Succeeding as a business means capitalizing on data, and managing that information effectively means complying with regulations. These gu...
MTL Connect Oct 12-17 2021 Virtual Event
For the third edition of Montreal Connect, we’re happy to announce that Guy Veilleux, Head of Partnerships at Qohash will be speakin...
Qohash Launches New Qostodian Recon™ Product to Help Organizations Discover and Secure Their Sensitive Data
Qohash’s enterprise-grade data discovery technology is now available for mid-sized companies that want to identify and secure sensitive d...

Contact us​

Sensitive data inventory
Meet PII and PCI audits
Ensure GDPR, NYDFS compliance
Improve data governance
Drive SOC 2 certification
Insider threat monitoring
Lockdown endpoints
Detect policy violations in real-time
Expedite investigations
Quantify risk levels for the Board
Defying legacy limitations
What our customers say